David Cameron is set to return to the cabinet table as the new Foreign Secretary, marking his first cabinet role in over seven years. This move comes as part of a cabinet reshuffle led by Rishi Sunak.

Cameron replaces James Cleverly, who has assumed the position of home secretary after the dismissal of Suella Braver man. Other notable returns include Andrea Leadsom in a junior role at the Department for Health and Social Care and Damian Hinds as a minister in the Department for Education.

Lord Cameron, out of Parliament since stepping down as prime minister in 2016, has been granted a seat in the House of Lords to facilitate his return to a cabinet position.

In discussions with US Secretary of State Antony Blinken, they emphasized the strong UK-US relationship, addressing topics such as the Middle East conflict, Israel’s self-defense rights, humanitarian pauses for aid in Gaza, and continued support for Ukraine against Russia.

While some express satisfaction with the new cabinet, there are dissenting voices within the Conservative Party. Backbencher Dame Andrea Jenkyns has submitted a letter of no confidence in the prime minister, and Sir Jacob Rees-Mogg warns of potential votes lost to the Reform party.

Opposition parties question the freshness of the start claimed by Sunak, with Labour’s Pat McFadden stating that Cameron’s appointment contradicts the promise of change, and Liberal Democrat leader Sir Ed Davey calling it a move of desperation.

Lord Cameron addressed concerns about his past involvement with Greensill Capital, asserting that it is “in the past” and has been “dealt with.” The Liberal Democrats are calling for his peerage to be blocked, citing his lobbying for the collapsed finance company.
Suella Braverman’s dismissal initiated a broader cabinet reshuffle by Rishi Sunak, with notable appointments including Steve Barclay as environment secretary, Victoria Atkins as health secretary, Richard Holden as Tory party chairman, and Esther McVey as a Cabinet Office minister.

John Glen transitions from chief secretary to Paymaster General, and Laura Trott takes on the role of chief secretary to the Treasury, replacing John Glen. Additionally, Lee Rowley replaces Rachel Maclean as housing minister.

Last Updated: 14 November 2023